harriers-online aggborough news
9th May 2005  
More out of the door

Without giving any time for the paint to dry on the old season the Harriers manager, Stuart Watkiss, has started re-modelling the side to make way for the vibrant colours of next seasons Conference campaign.

Today he stripped the squad back to the barebones with P45's handed to Lee Jenkins, Abdou Sall, Blair Sturrock, John McGrath, Tom Bennett, Simon Weaver, Ian Foster, Billy Jones, Gary Birch and Bertrand Cozic.  These players were all on short term contracts until the final game of the season and have not been given the option to extend.

Club Captain Wayne Hatswell has seen his three year contract ripped up and has now found himself unwanted and on the transfer list after failing to impress in recent months and has now been given the chance to find himself a new club and a new start.

Stuart has given Dean Keates, Mark Rawle, Chris Beardsley and Adam Chambers the chance to sign up for a further year and I expect the first three to accept that and Chambers to stay in the Football League with a club in the 1st or 2nd Division.

Watkiss told the Official site earlier today that; "It's been a terrible season and I have to make significant changes to freshen things up, some of them will be leaving purely for financial reasons.  Money will be tight next season and we have to be realistic in terms of what we can offer".

Talking about the reason for putting Hatswell on to the list Watkiss said this; "If nothing happens then I will gladly welcome him back for pre-season. He can still play a big part in getting this club back into the Football League."

The club now have just seven contracted players with John Danby, Daniel Lewis, Chris McHale, Steve Burton, Iyseden Christie, Simon Russell and Mark Jackson all at Aggborough for another 12 months.  Both Christie and Jackson have clauses in their contracts allowing them to leave if we got relegated and it will be interesting to see if they both now activate that clause.  Jackson is thought to be in the process of buying a property in Bewdley so will be loathe to leave just yet.

There are also two Youth team players that have either played, Jermaine Hollis, or been awarded the Young player of the year trophy, Stephen Thompson.  They are both expected to be here next season.

More news as it comes will be found on here later rather than sooner.
              Back to Top

Site © 1999- Harriers-Online.co.uk - all rights reserved  
This site is 100% unofficial and in no way represents the views of Kidderminster Harriers FC